What’s So Important About My Job? Confession’s of a Youth Pastor. 

There have been many times in my life and even more recently, that I feel like I should do more than Pastor. Like I’m not doing enough. 

When things happen to members of our church and I feel like I could have done more than stand by and mutter some words to a guy up in the clouds. 

I have gone down many roads of what I thought I should be. I thought about taking up nursing (that stuff fascinates me to know end!), psychology, firefighting, maybe even policing. Something where I can physically or emotionally help people. I feel like I’m not doing enough for society. 

I was at a training day for leaders at our church this past Saturday. We watched a clip of the man who owns and founded the Ritz Carlton. He talked about the importance of each job and how it effects the over all run of a company. He treats dishwashers with the same level of respect as his managing staff because that’s how important each piece of his business is to him. 

He talked about attitude when dealing with people who are new to our business and how we need to go above and beyond in order to make a long lasting impact. 

Than our lead Pastor talked for a moment and reminded me that kingdom work is just as important if not more important. We aren’t just saving lives. We’re saving souls. 

I think I get caught up in the program of it all. All we do is program and fill in time slots filled with fun activities and events where we give out free stuff and free pizza. The kids come and have fun and leave. That’s what I see sometimes. 

But I have to remind myself that it’s so much more than that. We are teaching a next generation of leaders to rise up. We care for the kids whom, maybe their families and societies don’t want. We help kids finish school, get past the stress of peer pressure, teach them to have their own ministry and walk with God, so they can save the lives of the generation after them and the people they encounter regularly. 

We show compassion when schools and teachers don’t. We show love when families are broken. We show life when they want out of theirs. 

We enter their world to understand it and walk along side them so they get opportunities to reach out to others around them. We show them that “following Jesus will make your life better and will make you better at life” (Andy Stanley). 

For those of you reading and maybe aren’t Christian or any religion I want to clarify something. I don’t just do what I do to convert people into my way of thinking. I am just doing what God has asked me to do. To love Him and love people. I do more mentoring than preaching. I listen more than I give lectures on how to live life. I parent when kids don’t have parents to fall back on. My job isn’t about telling people how to live, it’s about living WITH people. 

Jesus did so many great things in His time. He did many miracles, healing people of their sicknesses, driving out demons, raising people from the dead and teaching them new ways of thinking  and living. (Ps if anyone came up to me with a demon I’d probably freak out). 

Jesus taught his disciples. He walked with them, guided them, loved them (even when they asked dumb questions or turned their backs on him). Than he died for them. NOT saying as Pastors we should be dying for our youth even though their have been people who have died for standing up for what they believe in (other wise I’d be asking for danger pay). 

Jesus was the first Pastor. He set the bar. His ministry was so much more than healing mentally or physically. 

There is a passage Mark 2:15 that says:

“While Jesus was having dinner at Levi’s house, many tax collectors (they were hated by everyone) and ‘sinners’ were eating with him and his disciples…” 

Why do I point this passage out? Because of the use of the word sinners. It never gives one specific sin because this is His way of telling us it shouldn’t matter who they are. You sit and eat with them anyways. It doesn’t say he sat with the murders or adulterers. It says sinners because we are ALL sinners no matter what the sin is. We are equal in the eyes of God and as such we need to love each other no matter what we have done. 

And that’s where Pastoring begins. 

Leave a Reply

